Bagism: Albums & Singles

Reviews: Unfinished Music No. 1 - Two Virgins


"Unfinished Music No. 1 - Two Virgins" was the first of three experimental albums by John Lennon and Yoko Ono. It is perhaps more widely known for the album cover showing John and Yoko stark naked than the montage of sounds on the actual record. It was released Nov. 11, 1968 (US) and Nov. 29, 1968 (UK).

Please add a review if you are familiar with "Unfinished Music No. 1 - Two Virgins". Tracks are also available.

Price
Watch

Amazon
$16.98
** prices updated every 24 hours **


Rating: 5.0
Mar 3, 2009
Blake
This album is a true art of any album. The vinyl is excellent! I have not heard the bonus track. The front cover is a laughing stock and strange. If you do not like strange noises, you will not enjoy this album.

Rating: 1.5
Oct 26, 2008
SonicDeath10
John falls under the influence of Yoko's avant guard ideas and records his first solo album. It's given a one point five, but it's given a one not in contempt, neccesarily, but in honesty. These kind of avant guard meanderings are probably impressive to people who have never listened to, say, John Cage, but they are definitely not that impressive compared to other avant guard things I've heard. Even Revolution #9 is more impressive in the depth of it's sonic layers. This was done in an afternoon, it seems, and it shows. There are meanderings, sonic burps and farts, and not much else. Anybody could do this kind of album in an afternoon. It did not take John Lennon to do this. That's why I don't like it: where is John in this? Hell, where is Yoko? I don't feel them here, don't feel the heart and the personalties they projected later in their careers. Yes, I know, that's the point, but that only proves my point: anybody could do this. You could: I HAVE. It doesn't take a genius to make this album. The only reason I give it a one point five is for the guts it took for such a well known pop musician to release an album like this as his first solo album. After all, John was not a theoretical composer with the depth and knowledge of composition of the aforementioned John Cage. He was a blimey from England who, being a songwriting genius, is no avant guard genius.

Rating: 5.0
Oct 14, 2007
Morninggloryseed
A fantastic first album. Of course, I recognize that this album may disappoint rock n roll fans (as there is no rock music). But true Lennon fan who "get it" recognize what a wonderful artistic statement this album is. From a historical perspective, it is a must-own because it documents the first time John and Yoko became lovers. John was coming down from an LSD experience, called Yoko over, and they made this album...and then made love as the sun came up (to which Lennon said was beautiful.) Beyond the historical perspective, it is just an amazing sound-scape to listen to (especially while under the influence of a psychedelic :) ). Also of interest are some bonus tracks. I'm very happy Ono decided to reissue this.

Rating: 5.0
Sep 10, 2007
spyros from Greece
WHAT BJORG IS DOING NOW,AND ALL THE MUSIC CRITICS SAID THAT IS GENIOUS,YOKO MADE THEM 30 OR SO YEARS BEFORE.SHE WAS BEYOND HER TIME AND SHOWN LENNON DIFFERENT MUSIC PATHS TO FOLLOW.TWO VIRGINS WAS NOT A BAD ALBUM.PEOPLE ARE NOT READY THEN TO HEAR IT.AS FOR THE COVER THERE IS NOTHING MORE BEAUTIFUL THAN TWO PEOPLE IN LOVE THAT THEY ARE NAKED.

Rating: 1.0
Aug 9, 2007
Paul Panetta
I read all the reviews of this album and the ones that give this Lp a terrible rating are in the right ballpark. Back in 1968-69,the few that bought this Lp were probally scratching there heads like the CD buyers of today,"What the hell is this?" Also,almost similiar to the Beatles 1966 "butcher Cover",the Butcher cover hit stores for one day,then pulled because of the letter CAPITAL RECORDS distributed to the retail outlets. But the TWO VIRGINS LP was out there much longer, then I believe they were confiscated by authorities later on. ( I even have an original Two virgins LP STILL SEALED with that round sticker that shows it's a true 1st pressing not the bootlegs you see out there on ebay.It even has the original price tag on it $4.44.)So with the price sticker,it was in the stores longer and I even think were only placed in the back of the shelves near the cash registers,( sort of like todays versions of cartons of cigarretts and booze at your local liquer stores). Someone mentioned the MONO version of this LP.A friend of mine who happens to be British,says the U.K Mono version has Lennon actually giving a speech at the end of side 2 before the needle goes into the innergroove to complete the listening of the record.What Lennon says,I don't know.If it's true,to me that would be a rare item.Speaking of rare, it's the cover that makes this Lp rare,not the vinyl and A STILL SEALED Two Virgins LP has been holding steady since 1968 around $200.00,Lennon even mentioned that in his 1980 BBC interview,but however,I noticed it climbed up to $350.00 in some EBAY auctions. KEEP IT GOING!So if your gonna get this LP, Only buy a STILL SEALED one for collecting purposes. Lennons solo LP of Two virgins and his WEDDING ALBUM LP of 1969 are the ones to own for collectability.

Rating: 5.0
Apr 21, 2007
twovirginsforever
Many want to review the actual audio contents of the recording....but that's not what it's all about! What is probably the most recognizable nude celebrity photo from the 20th century? Besides Miss Monroe, the "Two Virgins" cover helped blow the lid off 60's censorship. A Beatles related cover in a brown paper bag...unheard of! The Beatles music was until then, 50% of Capitol's revenue and their shunning of Lennon's new album was a shot to his soul. So much so that he decided to commission the help of three noted New York artists to create a mock cover and record of the original "Two Virgins" album. This version was to made to appear more artistic, with John and Yoko now looking like a Greek God and Goddess on the cover and celestial visions on the record painting. Well, it turned out even better than he could have envisioned and the cover became a 3-D relief sculpture in white plastic. Only about 15 copies of this extraordinary cover were ever copied at the time. They were produced from placing the warmed plastic over a beautiful hand carved stone mold that one of the artists (a master sculpter) spent many days carving. So this was no simple fly-by-night project. The finished copies were to be secretly presented at the Capitol Records sales meeting held in Miami, Florida at the Doral Country Club in June '69. This was John's way of saying---Thanks for nothing! For reasons unknown and according to Ken Mansfield (the Capitol person in charge of the meeting), the mock album never showed up. Some have claimed to have seen it, but Mansfield is the definitive source for opposing those claims. There's a website that pictures one of the rare copies and says wrongly that Capitol chose to create it especially for the meeting. Any logical person would say otherwise, since they would not even distribute "Two Virgins" it makes no sense they'd celebrate the album with an expensive promotional give-away. By the way, the original carved stone mold has been preserved since 1969 and will be unveiled at a major museum, seen for the first time to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the album in 2008. The artists' names will be revealed at that point also.

Rating: 1.5
Apr 20, 2007
philippe
this is a collage not unlike "revolution n°9", it does give out a peculiar atmosphere, but soon turns out to be boring, kind of do-it-yourself sort of stuff.

Rating: 1.0
Jul 31, 2006
laurie marks
Back in early 2001 I lent my copy of this CD to my friend Alex who ended up writing a review on this site. It was only recently that I read his review, saw his offer to me at the end and went around to collect my CD back. Was this CD as bad as Alex said ? Or did the fans giving it a hefty 5.0 know the truth ? So, many years after last hearing the vinyl album I played the CD version for the first time. After only a few minutes, the phrase 'audible nonsense' kept repeating itself over and over in my head. But this CD is not a musical CD - rather, it is a recorded piece of performance art, so beware buyers. There are people who paint a wall blue and declare that it reveals much about the human spirit. Other people consider it to be a wall painted blue. But there is a point where the perception of art crosses a boundary and appreciation becomes obscure, an exercise in semantics. Is the artist having a lend of us, casting some joke at our expense ? My own interpretation in the present case is that the Lennons own sense of judgment disappeared so that they allowed the release of this album to become an overarching exercise in self-indulgence. Post-modernism allows 'Art' to be anything anyone defines it as, to the point where nothingness can become art. An empty room can be displayed as just that - eg the Tate Modern's gallery - and the artist will tell us that 'Nothingness' is a means of exmaining our own soul etc etc. Normally it is the taxpayer who pays for all this stuff. At least Two Virgins is a refreshing change to 'user-pays' for performance art. But there is a sense of sadness in listening to a talented song-writer debase himself publicly, a painful expose of essentially giving the finger to the public and saying 'You'll buy any old crap'. Such tricks were more relevant in 1969 than they are now when there was more of a sense that the stated order had to be overthrown at all cost. These days, it just seems a dated joke, as out-of-date as the attitudes it purported to deride, until it becomes self-derisory. It is not enough to destroy an appreciation of Lennon in the mainstream, however much it was designed to. Most people will dismiss it as a drug-fuelled momentary lapse of reason - well year-long given its two sequels. Let us hope that art of any firm, but especially music, never 'progresses' to this stage. In the end, Alex was right and I have mailed the CD back to him for a joke at his expense, calling my act of mailing it my own inspired stroke of 'performance art' He has told me that he recorded the sound of his breaking the CD and his hoping to release the tapes in the near future.

Rating: 5.0
Dec 27, 2005
Mike Davies
Well - what can I say ? Surely the first , 100% full-on abstract music album issued in the field of 'rock' and definetly one of the best. The use of mellotron , tape-loops and Yokos excellently unsettling vocalising still sounds great today , mainly because there is nothing else quite like it.Forget the 'controversial' cover and let the music flow over you . Abstract though it may be , Two Virgins still manages to convey a wide range of feelings and emotions - tranquility , anguish , humour and obviously , the love between two people . Cited as an influence on contemporary avant-gardists such as the Los Angeles Free Music Society and Nurse With Wound , now is the time for Two Virgins to claim its title of GREAT IGNORED AVANT GARDE ALBUM OF THE 20th CENTURY. So there !

Rating: 3.0
Oct 9, 2005
lennon lives on
I don't really like this album, it sounds like stuff to play on halloween with all those eerie sound effects. Anyway, It's john so thats what is important. He must have enjoyed doing it, so I guess it's alright. I've only played it about 2 times, and I think I won't be playing it until 10/31/05 .

Rating: 1.0
Oct 2, 2005
Anonymous
This record shows that get adicted in heroin and fall in love with Yoko might produce bad musical effects... John were thinking he was doing avent guard art, but he was just doing a lot of noise... Here he does not even resemble the brilliant songwriter he was in The Beatles...

Rating: 3.5
Sep 24, 2005
Sam
This album is ok. I've only heard fragments of it. Its pretty weird. I dont feel like gettin it yet, for the obvious reasons (being BUTT-NAKED!) and more. Go to RYKODISC.COM to hear a 3-minute sample of "Two virgins", but turn the volume down on your speakers!!!!! Cheers!

Rating: 5.0
Sep 1, 2005
It's just me Hilda, home for tea!
This album has so many different levels to it, it is an experimental journey that rocked the world or it's John and Yoko arsing about in a studio. The album cover greatly represents the music, not much effort was given but it is guaranteed to have an affect on you. It's hard to talk about any individual tracks because my CD consists of just side 1 and side 2, unfortunately my favourite bit it at the end of 15 min side 1. But I'm not complaining, this album probably features every instrument on the Earth and beyond. Listen to it while in complete silence or cleaning your room or something.

Rating: 2.0
Aug 8, 2005
DJ Eric
This is the continuation of revolution #9 really,If your into abstract musing then this is for you,the cover remains the hook for this release as remember were talking the end of the 60's!!!! As A dj I find it interesting as a piece and some in the classical world,especially in the electronic field find it interesting to cut up remix etc, In interviews John has said he'd been doing these types of works since 64 or 65 during his time in his kentwood home,,I like this overall from time to time,,best heard at night I feel,not for everyone of coarse but I think in part was releasred to say,,this is not the beatles..

Rating: 2.0
Aug 8, 2005
dj eric
This is the continuation of revolution #9 really,If your into abstract musing then this is for you,the cover remains the hook for this release as remember were talking the end of the 60's!!!! As A dj I find it interesting as a piece and some in the classical world,especially in the electronic field find it interesting to cut up remix etc, In interviews John has said he'd been doing these types of works since 64 or 65 during his time in his kentwood home,,I like this overall from time to time,,best heard at night I feel,not for everyone of coarse but I think in part was releasred to say,,this is not the beatles..

Rating: 1.0
Apr 3, 2005
greg
DO NOT BUY THIS, IT IS NOT AVENT GARDE...MUSIC.if you want avent garde, go listen to goldfrapp, at least its actually good, and interesting.

Rating: 3.0
Sep 27, 2004
Rick Jackson
the cover as always was, is a keeper, i give him an A+ yoko ono was into as john calls it avant garde, so anything she did john supported as was the case with this album, it was never meant to hit the charts or be a rock & roll album, it was issued because john loved yoko and supported her form of art. if the world can accept this, then maybe this can stand as more of an art than a record. if you are looking for John Lennon on this album, you won't find him , it's only a symbal of johns support and love for his wife. it deserves a 5 in art form but since it's listed here as rock i give it a well deserved 3

Rating: 1.0
Sep 15, 2004
Gary Harper
Lets get one thing straight. This is not music. It isn't even avante-garde, or experimental music. It is a document of events. At the time that this was recorded Lennon was so fried by drugs that he believed that every thing he did was infused with a mystical relevence. Upon consumating his relationship, Lennon felt the event was so significant that he had to literally record it for posterity. The result is nothing more than the product of a tape recorder left running, with some of the protracted silences and other assorted boring bits edited out, and a few bits of sonic gimmicrey thrown in for the hell of it. It should not be taken to lightly that this was largley a Yoko project that John sanctioned and supported as a result of the thrall he was held in. It is not a tongue in cheek excercise, nor was it an attempt to reconfigure the music industry, more an indication that these two had gotten carried away by their own sense of self importance. I give it the single star rating for the cover,which truley was groundbreaking and risk-taking, the only really calculated part of the whole project. I find it interesting that despite the fact that it was going to be seen by every one all over the world, Lennon preferred to take the picture himself using an automatic camera because he was to self conciuos to use a photogrepher.

Rating: 3.5
Aug 30, 2004
Ervin D.
When I think of virgins, I immediately visualize children. I do not only think of them as virgins physically, but also emotionally, spiritually and mentally. Children are oblivious to the corrupting evils and realizations of this world. Virgins, in every aspect of the word. I find that this album represents the inner curios child in both John and Yoko. Curious about this new found kind of music, like a kid who finds a new musical instrument and/or sound. Curious about how far they can push the envelope, hence, the cover and the music. Curious about this new found connection between both of them. And curious about how far they can stretch their creativity and imagination. Two Virgins, unfortunately, is not for every music fan, not even for every Beatle fan. This particular kind of music requires a very open mind and a very deep childlike curiosity for sound production. I see this album like a painting, by two children who just found a new kind of sound.

Rating: 2.5
Jul 1, 2004
Lennologist
It's funny to try and think what the reaction of people in record stores picking up this album must have been. There are John Lennon and Yoko Ono in all their, naked, uncut glory. The cover seemed to both annoy and amuse everyone on the planet (yes, that includes the other Beatles) and the content of the album was even more baffling. By this time, just about everyone had heard the Beatles' 'White Album' and the infamous avant garde composition 'Revolution No.9', and that is the closest John ever came to doing anything like what is on 'Two Virgins'. 'Two Virgins' is still actually very different from that other "song" and there seems to be a lot of talking going on in the background, so much so that you actually feel like you're intruding on someone's privacy. It's a strange album, sure, and not everybody is going to like it but me, being a little more open minded than most folk, found a lot to like and admire about two people expressing their love while at the same time going in some strange new directions with music. I would recommend this to a lot of people and, even they didn't like it, it's a good thing to have on your shelf and confuse people with.

Rating: 1.0
May 30, 2004
Morozov Dima
So this is it, the famous "Two Virgins"! Well, I can say that this album is very interesting as the first Lennon's solo album. Far not every artist would like to show himself by album like this one. This fact shows that Lennon was very bold person, especially for his time. When I was buying it I hoped to purchase the album full of compositions like "Revolution#9" but I got the disc full of some strange personal conversations between John and Yoko instead. The only that I enjoyed during a listening to this disc were all these funny sounds. The cover is funny to. Anyway, I think that this album was Lennon's bold debute. However, it was normal for the great person like John Lennon.

Rating: 5.0
May 28, 2004
martin
John Lennon's first solo attempt was a hard issue to round up in a former communist country, but somehow I got me hands on the 1991 release of Unfinished Music No. 1. Most of the reviews I've read on this site were true... in a way. Although Cervantes stated that comparisions are hideous, in relation to the Two Virgins I can hardly avoid thinking of Joyce's Finnegan's Wake. As this book is written in words AND against them, it's the same with JohnandYoko's first collaboration. You can like and understand it or you put it down as a fArtsy compilation of weird noises. But music in its prime IS a noise. It is music and it is against music. Whether it is art or not, is not significant (honestly, the definition of "art" got rather dubious). An alert listener won't miss John's witt in his off-the-cuff remarks, humming, whistling and little piano bitties. The listeners are those, who break down. Always trying to find a meaning, some correlation to something they are able to comprehend. To me it is a pleasant kinda-buddhist record, that neither confuses nor upsets you, just turn off your mind, relax and float downstream... hushabye, hushabye folks

Rating: 5.0
Apr 12, 2004
Peter Krasov
Although I've put a 5 to this album, I have no assurance wherer this mark is appropriate for this album (along with "Life With The Lions" and "Wedding Album". I think it is quite hard to find any siutable grade of mark to rate this album. Just because it is standing out of any rating frames. In my mind, this peace of artwork shouldn't be taken seriously. Of course, it is interesting, but it is interesting to listen to it only once. So did I. And now sometimes I put it to my friends who are not well-informed about Lennon's art. That's it. It' s really marvellous that John Lennon invented these sounds or even "shapes" of the sound. But I think you have to listen to it only if you want to get an imression of Lennon's music as a whole.

Rating: 3.5
Apr 1, 2004
Kelvin
When I first popped open the 'Two Virgins' CD and stuck it into the player, I was greeted with the sound of whistling and various sounds. I was in bed under a cover and I found that it was one of the best listens I had had in a while. Definitely better than a lot of the stuff pop singers these days are churning out. The first track is basically just sounds before the great stuff comes near the end of the first track with almost hypnotic sounds. The second track has some good parts too and I was geniunely sad when it ended. There's really nothing much else I can say about this album, except that you should give it a chance before you dump all over it. It's a masterpiece, and with a nice cover! :)

Rating: 1.0
Dec 13, 2003
Andrew from InnerCircle Publishing. Com
There's no denying that John Lennon was a multi-talented artist, a hell of a song writer, and a great singer; but the man also had a sense of humor. That much should be obvious from early interviews and his participation in the films "Hard Day's Night" and "Help", and also in his choice to release "Two Virgins". It's a joke. Some people think that he was trying to do something experimental and share something personal with all his fans all over the world, or some such hippie shit, but the fact is is that it was an experiment to see if he could sell utter garbage with his name tacked to it. Not only did he do it, he did it three times. And the stuff sold! People have two reactions to things that they don't understand. One is to destroy it and the other is to call it genius. Lou Reed released four sides of guitar feedback to finish out a record contract and people called that genius too, but it's not. It's really just crap. The same can be said for "Two Virgins". Shove an old sweat sock in a record sleeve and slap the words "John Lennon" on it and you couldn't have kept them on the shelves in 1968, you dig? The cover was a ballsy move though. The cover is why the album is famous. So, if you're a huge Lennon fan or collector then the album is worth something purely on those merits, but if you're a music fan and dig Lennon's style pick up a copy of "Shaved Fish" instead. May the road rise...

Rating: 3.0
Oct 4, 2003
arnold
the abve rating is fairly random actually. this is a far less sucessful 'ambient' sound piece than the later 'Life with the Lions' and if you are interested in discovering lennon's late 60's sonic experiments start there. this album has always been contraversial, this is an inteersting process to me since the 'music' itself is so barren - that is free. people seem to prefer a 'lennon' they can create/project/identify with/respond to, etc, a persona. pure sound is an attempt to move beyond this on the part of the artist. it doesn't work because the sound has to be packaged, layered in image (which is exploited on Life with the Lions and particularly 'The wedding Album') etc. nontheless, people who buy 'lennon' seem to hate this - they cannot engage with it. this was true in Lennon's time - the arrival of the Lp in it's 'pornographc' brown paper outraged many. it is true today - the album provokes near hysterical reactions (see the reviews below!). this is strange since the aural material on the vinyl (or cd) is avtually quite vacuous here. it is DESIGNED for the background. arnold.

Rating: 2.0
Aug 18, 2003
Bob Rice
John Lennon was a leader who was smart enough to understand that the window of opportunity that opened in the 1960's for creativity and freedom of speech would not stay open forever. He and the other Beatles started pushing the envelope in 1968 with songs like Hey Jude which was the first pop song over four minutes long that was aired nationally, and Revolution number 9 which was more sound collage than melody. The Two Virgins album was John's first artistic expression with Yoko and clearly was released tongue in cheek mostly as a way to test the waters with the record business to see what they could get away with. Though a record like Two Virgins is not worth buying, it's historical significance should not be discounted. It helped open doors for other artists that were soon to follow.

Rating: 1.0
Jun 27, 2003
Aron
Mmmm? I personally am a huge John Lennon fan, enjoying his more obscure work as well as the commercial. Branding something as art does not make it art. This is not music and it is not art. It is a montage of noise from John and Yoko on their first night together. Let's be honest, who hasn't thought it would be a good idea the next time they get drunk (okay stoned) to leave a tape recorder running to listen the next morning to all the funny/weird things from the night before. That does not mean it is art. Some people, I'm sure, would argue that the decision to edit and release it was an artistic gesture in itself, with arguments relating to societies relentless hunger for anything relating to idols or fame or some other contrived arty-farty talk. This all sounds a bit pretentious to me and is probably way over my head. The simple fact is, the album does not make for enjoyable listening and it does not carry any clever underlying message. If you're a collector and a fan, buy it, listen for a few minutes, then put it in the back of a cupboard and forget about it. If you're just interested in music and pop culture, then it may be worth a listen if you can borrow a copy just so you can form your own opinion on what all the fuss was about. If you are not a Lennon fan, have no interest in pop culture or are not a collector, avoid this album.

Rating: 4.0
Nov 26, 2002
Keith
Well, I've just about heard everything a slab of vinyl can absorb as song, from utter silence to some of the most impossibly nauseating noise. With the gift of hindsight, Two Virgins becomes stunning not only for it's unshockability but for it's credible influence on music culture. Avant-garde music is not something I care to remotely theorize, or even judge. But, for what it's worth, avant-garde rock was born here (not the least of the reasons being that John Lennon was doing it), and it has been repeated many times over with varying success. My advice to newcomers is, if you get your hands on a copy, don't expect it to be musical, but don't listen to it as though it should be. The entire album contains of six seperately numbered sections (if I recall correctly) and they all combine to form one thirty-minute track, which brings to mind something more pompous or hilarious than the album turns out to be. Basically, John and Yoko recorded and edited thirty minutes of their first night spent together and turned it into a spontaneous minimalist sound collage. The record (at least the public version) stays true to the approach and consist of light talking, moving about, whistling, tapping on the piano, etc.etc.etc. In other words, it's not affected insanity, or even manic; it's really just playful. Actually, it's one of the most unintrusive albums of all time, with John and Yoko in one of their most reserved gears. The key to the initial hostility that this album evoked is that John Lennon, revered by millions, was challenging his audience more (tho not by much) than he did before with the Beatles. And, in time, it stands as yet another new step in an interesting, if not challenging, career.

Rating: 1.5
Oct 28, 2002
Anna
In a profession where it is acceptable to simply paint an entire canvas red, and sell it with the message that it represents all the bloodshed in war, and make a few thousand off of it because someone is willing to buy it, I say John and Yoko had a hit. So, having said that, I have to say I found the album SOMEWHAT artistic. Many have probably bought this album with the idea that you're going to get music. It would've been nicer of John and Yoko for them to put a warning on the album for the poor unsuspecting buyer. I am familiar with avant guarde material, as I've sung some pieces in choir. The choir sang a rather haunting piece about a playful child who died in a car accident. It was a very powerful and moving peice, even though most of it was sounds and noises, hand claps and stomps instead of words. I did not find this powerful at all. Personally, I see this as a whole day of experimenting in the sound studios. Now, I could do that, but I'm not John Lennon. I couldn't get away with that. They'd lock me away if I appeared on a cover in the nude. Although, this album does prove one thing to me: People will buy anything...and I mean ANYTHING...if it has John Lennon's name on it. If John Lennon left a tape recorder going all night long and recorded himself snoring, and released it, he'd make a few million off of it. So, the album itself is not artistic at all. It's experimental fun, and if it really MUST be released, it should be handed out as free. It's no secret that John and Yoko are controversial. He was controversial back in the days in Hamburg when the Beatles showed up on stage hammered and/or stoned. I've seen photos in biographies of John, in a drunken stupor, on stage, with a toilet seat around his neck. I found that to be more artistic than this. Avant guarde is a type of art that is completely out of the ordinary, and most of the time has a message. The message, 9 times out of 10, is political and is usually about peace vs. violence. I'm sure this is "avant guarde", but it's that small percentage that does not have a clear message, if it has one at all. Although, I'm sure most of it was pure publicity considering a "song" Yoko sung called "No Bed For Beatle John" off of the "Unfinished Music No. 2 - Life With The Lions" album. Lyrics: The Beatles win battle of the nude LP! The Beatles have won their fight to put out an LP record With a sleeve showing John Lennon and Yoko Ono in the nude! Was it a battle to send a message? Or was it a battle to do something controversial?

Rating: 3.0
Oct 14, 2002
Andrew Bowman
I bought this album on a cheap release CD, so not having heard the digitally remastered vesion, I'm going to have to make do with that. Personally, i felt it was interesting in two ways: firstly, it wasn't that far removed from what I was expecting, so I wasn't that disappointed with it. Secondly, although perhaps more importantly, this isn't a John Lennon album! The original credit (or the credit on my CD) is Yoko Ono/John Lennon, which suggests it was Yoko's idea to release it, with John just agreeing with her. His involvement is only on a 'musical' note, and it has to be said he probably only really agreed to it to get Yoko in the sack! Content wise, it's the other side of the Revolution 9 coin. Whereas the latter was more focused on anger, violence, war etc., this album focuses on love, peace and gentility. Admitedly, it doesn't promise world peace and, naturally, Give Peace A Chance gives a better picture of this subject, but you can't help listening to Two Virgins. Perhaps best described as an aural road accident, you don't like what you hear, but you can't help listening to it. The rating is purely on the basis that without this album in particular, various future sound experiments would probably have not existed, so certainly important in that respect. An important work historically, and certainly as influential as anything he did with Beatles.

Rating: 4.5
Jul 25, 2001
Claus Nielsen
This album was a strange way to launch a solo lennon. I rather enjoy just putting this album on, turn off my mind,relax and float downstream with the madness-in-sound made by John and Yoko. It´s not an album for heavy thinkers or ´fans´ who doesn´t ,if not love Yoko, then at least accepting that John loved her, and found someone to do funky/mad stuff with. I like Yoko much better when she sticks to her madness, rather than when she tries to make ´real´ music, ´cause she just doesn´t cut it. As for the cover, well, that´s pure Lennon/Ono, love it or loath it, I choose to love it. The ´97 CD edition would have been perfect, had it not been for the fact that about 20 are missing on track.2 (the original side 2 of the LP). Maybe next time, we´ll get the full-length version. Finally a question for all you Beatles detectives: On a picture from Ascot in ´71, John and Yoko are seen posing for the camera, and on the left side of the picture, you see a blown-up version of the "Two Virgins" cover picture featuring a third man!!, who is that??. I mean it´s their business, but i´m just curious, aren´t you???.

Rating: 2.5
May 5, 2001
Bro. Box
Gee I must be getting old. after reading some of the reviews here, I just had to get the LP out blow the dust off the paper outer cover,slip the sleve out and put the old boy on the turn table and fire it up. As the needle droped and the static poped and the first track came on. I was sweeped back 3 decades. I remembered looking for this album, (have to ask for it by name cause it wasn't placed on shevels then, under counter only.) I listened to it. either I have changed or this record isn't all that great. giving the time alotment since I first aquired it or the fact I don't do acid anymore. I don't think that this is one of Lennon's best efforts. Yeah we all know the story, he and yoko spent all night recording this and made love in the morning.But it just isn't that good. It seems to me to be an effort to combine his feelings for artisic expressions with Yoko's advantgaurd art. Or he just wanted to get into her pants. At best the most you can say about this album is that it is an experiance in sound. you could say he wanted to break from the Beatles mode untill you listen to Imagin. (Very Beatleish, and why not Harrison and Starr both played on it.)It may be an attempt to combind his art with that of Yoko's. either way this album lacks a good feel. So if your not a collector and just a fan I suggest "Plastic Ono Band" if music is what you want.

Rating: 1.0
Mar 19, 2001
Alex Ant
A friend of mine asked me to review this album after lending it to me. Some friend. "I'm interested in hearing some of Lennon's early solo material," I said, after seeing a recent TV doco with Yoko. "Sure," he says, "Try this one and tell me what you think." Well, it took me a couple of trys to figure out what I was doing wrong with my CD player because all that kept coming out of the speakers was like this noise. "Jiminy ! What's wrong with the CD player !" It sounded like someone was trying to escape from the speaker by squeezing their diaphragm through the sub-woofer while holding an underwater bottom cough contest using swizzle sticks for point posts. So I threw on another CD and it played fine. Hmm, could be the Blair Witch is around or perhaps I just stuffed up my friend's CD, thinks I. So I rang him up and told him what had happened. Of course, he he, he laughed at me and said, "No, it's meant to sound like that, Cheese-brain. It's experimental." To which I replied, "If I'm the cheese-brain, then how much did you pay for this CD ?" Silence. So to pacify or humour him, I'm not sure which, I sat through about 20 minutes of this noisy drivel before realising that the problem was me. I'm just too young to go weak at the knees whenever the Lennon name is lent to a project, and the utter barrage of offensive noises which makes up this CD are hardly likely to make me start. So my friend said I should read some reviews on Bagism.com to see what the real cogniscenti among the friends think. What a sad person I am, clearly, for being unable to appreciate a good old-fashioned wailing contest when I hear one. Look, if you grew up with the Beatles then I'm sure everything Lennon has ever touched seems great. But for the rest of the 98% of humans still alive and without their brains fried already, this CD is a real waste of time. I have heard some of Lennon's songs and music and there are some classic ones among a lot of other mediocre ones. But this CD is the height of self-indulgent rubbish that defies any more sensible review. As for my friend, he can come and collect his CD whenever he wants.

Rating: 1.0
Sep 15, 2000
Nick W
Lennon cheerfully set about ripping up his Beatle past with this offering and he achieved it with style. Both the cover and what's contained on the vinyl were a two-fingered salute to his former colleagues, the music business, the press and the whole Beatlemania bandwagon - which he'd grown to despise. Two Virgins was Lennon re-branding himself as a dangerous avant-garde artist, different, deeper, darker and more dangerous than Paul, George and Ringo could ever be. Dispensing with songs, tunes or any kind of structure, the strange warblings, nonsense talk and backward tape recordings contained on Two Virgins probably constitute the most wantonly uncommercial release ever made by major artist in the history of popular music. Lennon deserves credit for even daring to release Two Virgins bearing in mind the critical and commercial success of almost everything which he'd recorded before it. The fact that it was released it on The Bealtes own label also shows Lennon wasn't afraid of putting his money where his mouth was. Sadly the spirit in which Two Virgins was released isn't matched by the material it contains. Musically it has absolutely no merit whatsoever, it's not funny or witty and only the most dedicated or deranged would listen to it more than once. You have to admire Lennon's bloodymindedness in putting out another two albums of similar material in the wake of Two Virgins, by which time he probably thought he'd made his point. As an historical document of Lennon's debunking of the whole Beatle phenomenon Two Virgins is a must but as music and even abstract art it's an unmitigated disaster.

Rating: 5.0
Sep 7, 2000
TheDentist
You would have to a cynic on the scale of Al Capp not to take SOMETHING from this document of perhaps Johns' night of all nights. It's pure spontaneous fun, releasing it for public consumption would have been the last thing on his mind at the time it was made back in May 1968. Following the India excursion, John had decided to rejoin the Freeway of spiritual paths (LSD) and many of the sounds you hear on this recording are akin to what he might have heard in his head while tripping away in his atic music room, which is where this was made the night he decided to invite that "weird Eastern bird over" while Cyn was away on holiday. It's the sound of two grown up children freaking out at play and perhaps that's why so many listeners dissmiss it, but it has an historical value and, as an aural assault, it certainly arouses the senses (unless of course you have been numbed into preconceived submissive ideas of what an album should be). Taken in context with the sleeve design this will go on having an impact on critical discussion long after the so called classics have become victims of their own blandness.

Rating: 5.0
Jul 24, 2000
matt constantine
I'll just reinforce a few points - for the reviewers who couldn't comprehend the album, and for any `Two Virgins' virgin reading this page. It's not like Revolution 9, because it's not really worthy of the term musique concrete. It's an improvised piece - John's keyboards and guitar(?), Yoko's instrumental vocalising, plus `samples' probably generated by the TV and the record-player - with a small amount of tape surgery and maybe additional sounds to add variety. All in lo-fi audio verite sound.There's no frantic jump-cutting and no hint of a narrative structure. It's hard to put into words what it communicates, this album. It's taken me a half-hour to say this much. The menace and malice implied by Rev 9 does not exist here, is inconceivable. There's a kind of innocent quality to it. Somehow it suggests a boundless, open-hearted love of life, and the participants' love of each other. The inclusion of `Remember Love' on the CD kind of sums it up. Even if you have a limited tolerance for avant-garde musics, you may well find it a joyous listening experience.

Rating: 3.5
Feb 4, 2000
Colin Heddle
I first heard this album, fully, a few days after a Christmas 1997 at my grandparents house. My Uncle had it it with him. Before I listened to it he gave me the advice, "make sure to keep it down or your Grandparents will start ripping their hair out in anger." I took his advice. I had heard excerpts of the album before, but this was the first time I could here it the whole way through. I put it on. Before long I was transfixed. I personally like the 2nd side better than the first. The first side contained more of Yoko screaming & John with his piano & his pointless talking. I feel the second side contained more experimentation. On the second side there is less screaming & more unique sound FX. My favourite part of the whole record is near the very end where you can hear some backwards talking. I also thought it was cool how the album ended, with that loud keyboard effect. Overall, I would give the album a 7/10 rating. It shows John's early attepts at avant-garde, which are not bad. The cover of the album?...........well lets just say that we could have all done without it, ..lets just say the album itself is more attractive then the outside of it. **** Thank you for reading!!!!!

Rating: 3.5
Jun 19, 1999
Jack the Box
I bought this album some twenty odd years ago. at that time I was heavly into J.Lennon I found this to a very different approach to the music of the era. not only for departure from the norm but its closeness to what was on the white album ie. revolution #9 it really put a hook on me. the culllmenation of sounds was unlike anything I heard. John and yoko's celebraton of their love is stirring in its simplitiy. though not in eloquinse. at times I found this album to be a bit confusing. {it could have been the drugs}{either his or mine.} But I had to find this out for myself. while it is true he was attempting to combine both style {his and yoko's} in to a medium that expressed both. I feel this album lacks John's true genius. and that being the use of the word. It lacks the thing thats makes all of his other albums what they are and that is his sense of humor. This is a serious attempt to express feeling through sound only. Which is more in line with what Yoko was doing in her art than what John was doing in his. If you really want to hear how they felt about one another get Double Fantsy. This album does have it merits. In its time it was truely different from anything I heard and while it's not one of my personal favorites it is well worth a listen.

Rating: 5.0
Jan 26, 1999
Jon
Probably the most interesting of the three experimental albums this site lists, it is definitely more acceptable today than it was in 1968. Think about it, today we have all this electronica/dance/rap sampling garbage, back then this confused and frightened people. (Especially John & Yoko's lovely photo on the cover.) Sadly, the cover is what this album will be forever remembered for, no one actually seems to care that there is some music on the actual CD...record if you paid through the nose to get it. This album is progressive rock at its nearly best. A little less than half an hour long, this album is basically an extended version of "Revolution 9" with a completely different feel. Although basically a noise album, "Two Virgins" definitely has it's moments of actual rhythm (very much unlike "Life With the Lions") and it is very intriguing throughout. Most of what you hear is open to interperetation, "is it a bird chirping or a science fiction soundtrack?" "Two Virgins" is so complex, you can't possibly hear it all in one listen. You really do hear something new each time you play it. It's a must for anyone who has waded through the untruthful crap to find out how good Yoko really was, and a maybe for most Lennon fans. Don't expect a top 10 greatest hit on this album, but it definitely is worth it.

Rating: 1.5
Jan 19, 1999
Howard Sauertieg
Two Virgins was reportedly recorded in one night when John and Yoko were tripping and fooling around with the tape machines in his home studio. After completing the album, J & Y took to fooling around with each other. For this reason alone, the album has historical significance. One thing the prospective buyer should know is that this is not a collection of songs but rather a lengthy collage of speaking, incongruous tape segments, musical instruments hesitantly banged or plucked, with a sort of oscillating wave-tone running as an undercurrent through most of the proceedings. Unlike "Revolution #9," Two Virgins isn't at all frightening; in fact, it sounds to me like a studio comedy album (imagine the Firesign Theatre on ether). It's fun for Lennon and Ono buffs but it isn't a very rewarding listening experience, perhaps because it is so loosely organized and hard to follow, and when it's coherent it isn't all that clever.

Rating: 4.5
Oct 8, 1998
J.A.S.
Hmmmm...This album, in my opinion, is very special and unique. If you're a really BIG John and Yoko fan, this album is a must have! But, if you're only wanting to buy a John Lennon CD for some "good listening music", you probably won't want this one. John and Yoko experiment around with all sorts of different means to produce music on this album. Some call it "avant-garde" music, some say its art, and some say its crap. Now then, I am a BIG John Lennon fan, and the first time I listened to this album, I thought, "Yeah OK, this is cool...might take a little while to get used to...," and it did! It wasn't until I listened to the album the SECOND time, that I really appreciated it. It IS art, it IS music, and it IS fun to listen to...especially if you're a die-hard Lennon/Ono fan. Everytime I listen to it now, it brings a smile to my face...you hear something new almost each extra time! I can see why some people may simply dismiss it as noise, but these people need to listen to it a couple more times, and then I bet they would appreciate it! Featured on the CD version is a bonus track; the song "Remember Love," written and sung by Yoko. It is a really soft and beautiful piece of music, with some wonderful guitar played by John. Not like much of Yoko's "typical music", I think anyone could enjoy listening to this.

Rating: 3.0
Aug 6, 1998
Emma Hansford
I have personally only heard the CD version of ‘Two Virgins’ and have yet to hear the vinyl. I found this CD extreamly unique as I assume every one does. I have not dealt with much "avant-garde" (?) music or art and therefor found this a refreshing, new experience. The music certainly sounded "unfinished", raw and improvised-however these qualities provided incredible fascination with unexpected surprises throughout the tunes. Unlike usual songs, I never new what would come next and nor could I or you ever predict-no matter how many times you listened to the CD. I found Yoko's vocals in ‘Remember love’ surprising *calm* compared to my experiences with her music in the past! Her constant humming through the tunes of side one and two bought a grin to my face as she reminded me of an annoying fly attempting to bother people in every way possible. For me, this album reflected the confusion of both John and Yoko’s life as well as the confusion of my own. Even though I was not born until 14 years after the vinyl was released, the disc, like many others, relates to people of all ages and levels of consciousness. I thoroughly recommend this album to any experimental John Lennon or Yoko Ono fans! However, remember not to have any expectations or immediate judgments of this disc as they will only stunt the growth of your love towards John and Yoko...

Rating: 1.5
Jul 14, 1998
Jimmy
It is unbelievable how many good reviews this album had... They forced me to listen to it again. Actually, it was a tape copy that I had after selling it to one of those used CD dealers. I kept the copy just in case, maybe I liked it later. But, honest truth, I couldn't hear what the fuzz is all about. This is, well, close to absolute trash. If I had the resources I could sit in a studio and play around like John and Yoko did, but since I wouldn't pose nude on the cover, nor do I have the popularity and media attention that these two did, then I'd probably wouldn't sell a single copy. Rev. 9 was kind of decent. But this is CRAP, long nd boring CRAP. If I had it was because some stupid Beatle-ignorant friend thought it was good. Unfinished Noise is better than Unfinished music. Music tends to be lyrical, harmonical, and it tends to be listenable. Noise haunts you away. Why didn't they add a track called "Honk" making a concerto of different car honks... 10 minutes with a Ford, 10 minutes with a Toyota, maybe have a sub-track called "Honk Delux" where you'd have alternate honks between a BMW and a Mercedes.... well, if I gave it half an apple more than the minimum it is beacuse it has John in it,... NEVER buy this. Oh, my tape has been properly erased and replaced by "Walls And Bridges"

Rating: 4.0
Apr 3, 1998
Christian
When I first listened to this album I know already that this album wasn´t going to be easy listening to. This album was recorded in John´s home studio in Weybridge. I don´t think this album was planned recorded in a usual studio. When you hear this you hear most John and Yoko do various stuff. Like banging on instruments, yelling, laughing etc. When I also heard it for the first time, I wanted to turn it off. But imagined this recording to be very arty. I can see John and Yoko do this in some sort of a art café or something. Most of this recording you hear Yoko scream and John "answer" her with various instruments. You hear drums, guitar (untuned), piano and other sound effects. You also hear records by artists being put on. It´s really hard to explain what this album means. I see this a recording done by two people in love. And as John said, they were TWO VIRGINS. I wouldn´t recommend it to basic Lennon fans, but I recommend it to people who liked "Revolution 9". On the CD version there´s also a bonus track. "Remember Love", which is the only basic song, if you know what I mean. The song was recorded at the same hotel room where they recorded "Give Peace A Chance". Room 1742. I think it´s Yoko who sings it, it´s a very tenderly song. It´s also a good lullaby song for the young children.

Rating: 3.5
Dec 7, 1997
K. David
A brilliant experiment album, high marks for ingenuity and spontaniety. John and Yoko clearly wanted to go 'out on a limb' here and for the most part it is an interesting listening experience.

Rating: 1.5
Nov 25, 1997
Matt Carney
Revolution #9 was fair, at least it ws only one song and it was new. This album of noise is the next step. Really it is only noise. There is no art to it. It is 2 people meesing around with studio equipment and recording it. No way could this be considered art because art has to be structured and take some time. I bet I could go to a studio and mess around in it and come out with at least more listenable art than this. It really is junk though and all I ahve to say is stay away. I know that bad reviews make you seem more curious to buy it, but really all you will do is waste your money. I mean it, this is not an album but junk. And this should not be titles Unfinsihed Music, but should be said Garbage, and just us trying to sound as bad as we possibly can to see if people will buy it.

Rating: 4.5
Sep 20, 1997
John Long
"Two Virgins" is an extraordinary avant-garde masterpiece. It is a remarkable sonic representation of the emotions and attitudes of the Lennon/Ono relationship; seemingly unstructured, it actually delves deep into the human psyche. The first track of the album, "Side One," is a rambling work. In its most brilliant moments, when spatterings of harmony are interjected into the near-insane sonic montage, it is a remarkable atmospheric piece. Yoko Ono's screeches break across the sounds to give the track a very wild feel, constrasting highly with the laid-back mood created by the other sounds. "Side Two," the second track, is much the same, but it has a very different mood to it. The whole of the album is given to creating sonic landscapes, and whereas "Side One" is alternately rocky and placid, "Side Two" has a very "flat" feel. This difference causes a rift to be created between the two tracks, and that is the principle drawback of the album. For instance, whereas most Lennon albums have a very definite continuity to them (which was one of his greatest aspects as a songwriter), "Two Virgins" is very choppy, and the break between the first two tracks is quite regrettable. However, the final track, "Remember Love," which is a bonus track, redeems this quality, ending the album on a somber, but beautiful, note. I would not recommend this album to a first-time Lennon listener, but if you are either serious about compiling a large library of Lennon's works, or are willing to experiment with new types of music, this album is an excellent addition to your CD collection.

Rating: 3.0
Sep 12, 1997
Grimble Grumble
Different, htat somes up this album. It is not great, not really even that good. I realise that yes, it is art yes, but this just gets boring. I mean it is much better than Life with the Lions. The track does actually get catchy though. I have to like this album very much though because it took a lot of guts to actually release this album(drugs probably helped though. I still admire John greatly for experimenting with music, and what else could be stranger than this. Yoko's voice, that high pithched out of tune screech that is on htis album and more frequently portrayed on life with the Lions, can be spine chilling. I can see a bit of this influence on some of today's bands like Sonic Youth Beck and etc. This album is definately not great and is only made for the True fans but it still deserves a 3.0 marking just because it is so risky. And all you people who rated it a 5 apple review, I just have to say is who are you kidding? This album would be rated a 0.5 if it wasn't for John's name on it. I mean let's jujst say that Oasis followed this example(like they follow all the other Beatles examples) and came out with a cd like this today(I know many of you probably hate oasis but just humor me and pretend). This'oasis' album would be considered the biggest bunch of'junk' that has ever been released. All you fans like it because you want to. You know I'm Right. I just have to admire his nerve, so that is why it deserves this high rating.

Rating: 5.0
Jul 31, 1997
Jim Jacobs
It is interesting to see this "album" back in the record stores again considering that nearly 30 years ago it was almost impossible to buy. Once again as back in 1968, The CD has been issued in a brown bag just like it's 12 inch counterpart was. I must admit that the quality of Two Virgins has been dramaticaly improved. The only thing it suffers from is that the second track of the disc ends abruptly sooner than the album did. Unless you have the album, you do not have the entire recording of Two Virgins. The addition of Remember Love to the CD does make a nice ending to it. This song which was the b side to John's Give Peace A Chance song makes it's debut on CD for the first time. Unfinished Music #1 Two Virgins is a must for the serious John Lennon collector. It is humerous as well as interesting. One can only imagine what was going on in his mind that magical night that he & Yoko created this album. By posing naked on the cover, one can appreciate the fact that John Lennon was happy for the first time in his life,having found the perfect companion to experiment & understand his avant garde side. Listen to it. Like it. Love it. Live it.

Rating: 5.0
Jul 10, 1997
Ian Grant
I just purchaced the NEW VERSION of Two Virgins. The new one has an extra track on it called Remember Love sung by Yokok & it's not really that bad of a song. As for a review this album has to get a 5.0 I love it's uniqueness & it's something different than the normal Lennon stuff which is good. As for recomending it to buy, I have to say LISTEN TO IT BEFORE YOU BUY. Some people will enjoy this type of music, while others will find it extremely annoying. It's great to listen to while drunk too (in responce to the bit about the plumber in one of the other reviews)

Rating: 4.0
Jun 25, 1997
Imagine822
I just bought the C.D. and i must say it's interesting and unique, and i was skeptical, but i found myself actually relaxing, and realized that i like it's oddness. I would recommed this album to somone who isn't afraid of something different from the John Lennon library

Rating: 5.0
Jun 20, 1997
Myke Carter
An absolutely phenomenal work. Besides being what seems to be the most popular and classic of the three experimental albums credited to John & Yoko (and certainly the most ear-and-brain-friendly, I might add), it is an incredible proof that avant-garde recordings can be brilliant as well as successfully conceived and executed without being shocking, rude, offensive, or boring. 'Two Virgins' easily achieves whatever it was that its creators were affecting to achieve by recording anything of this sort. I have long considered it a mellow cousin of 'Revolution 9', however, as it was actually created in advance of 'Revolution 9' (according to my best sources), I probably should consider the latter to be a manic sibling of the former instead! This album consists basically of two 15-minute, multi-tracked aural montages, both of which seem to have no discernable direction or purpose. However, as with any music of this type, a basic motive does exist - that being to break people of tired thinking. Just as any poet will acknowledge that to rhyme is not an absolute requirement of poetry, 'Two Virgins' brilliantly demonstrates that rhythm, tonality, melody, harmony, and even traditional musical instruments are not absolute requirements of musical/vocal composition. Now that 'Two Virgins' has finally been officially released on compact disc via Yoko Ono and her label, Rykodisc, it should again be relatively easy to find and not too expensive to acquire. If you are not familiar with John & Yoko's early, avant-garde material, would like to be, and are not certain of which CD with which to begin in your effort to become so, I heartily recommend to you this album. Even though its contents bear virtually no resemblance to either 'Life With The Lions' or 'Wedding Album', a fact that makes honest comparisons difficult, in my opinion, 'Two Virgins' is the best of the three. It's also a lot of fun to play when a plumber comes to fix the sink.

Rating: 1.0
May 19, 1997
Brad Snyder
If you are not a big John Lennon and/or Yoko Ono fan then you definetly do not want to buy this record. It is 29 minutes of spontaneous blabber. Although this may be entertainment for some it is not for me. When I buy a John Lennon record I want to hear his brillant talent for writing and performing wonderful songs(a two year old has the talent to make a record like this if someone else could hit record on the four track). Overall "Two Virgins" in my opinion was a dissapointment.

Rating: 3.0
Apr 22, 1997
fabfan
to rate an album like this is almost unfair, since i never really considered this an 'album' in the traditional sense of what we know the word to mean. in 1968 my local record store refused to sell me this record because of the cover, and i was underage. about three years later i finally did get this record but was not shocked, having already owned life with the lions. Now that album is shocking! two virgins is essential for serious lennon study, since it details the meeting of the minds between ono/lennon and really shows conviction toward experimental avant-garde sound collages. Does anyone know what differences appear in the mono version?

Rating: 5.0
Apr 6, 1997
Carolyn, John's # 1 Fan
I think my unfinished review got sent in error. I am addressing the emotional and personal feelings that went into this album. To fully understand the true entent of this album, you must have three things available. 1) The Two VIrgins album, 2) a copy of the book Lennon Remembers, the ROlling Stone interviews from 1971, and a copy of the Rolling Stone magazine dated 1/22/81. In Lennon Remeembers, he explains the whole night and the first real time John and Yoko spent just together and the deep love that they shared. In Lennon Remembers, John says in a few short words. "It was midnight when we started Two VIrgins, and it was dawn when we finished, and then we made love at dawn. It was beautiful." So far that uses the album and the book, but what about the ROlling Stone magazine???????? Well, on the cover, John is seen stark naked in the fetal position clinging to Yoko's side. She is fully dressed. This is the most truly sight to see. It helps you understand the truly deep love and devotion that John has found in Yoko. When they met, it was the truly best thing that could ever happen to John and he became aware of this. You just have to see the Rolling Stone cover to fully understand what John had found in her. He became his own person for the first time in a long time. Can't you see, Yoko is the most wonderful and valuable force in his life that now allowed him to be at peace with himself, something he has always been searching for, for so long. This album means a whole lot more that just the "naked cover!' John has allowed us to see him for the first time with his "gaurd up" This was such an important growing and healing time for him that he is now letting us see. This is a monument time in his life that he has let us see him for the first time as human and naked, vunerable just like us. Hey, that makes him human just like ourselves. I don't think he would have allowed us to see this side of him before. Just imagine how in his crazy world. He realized just what he had found and was never to let go of. She is probably the most wonderful and important thing now in his life. I feel that he actually grew within self for the first time in his years. TO truly understand John, you have to know Yoko and all that she has allowed to become. He never would have found true peace within imself if hadn't been for her. I have all of the neat "stuff" from back then and can see the true life whe has given back to him. To truly know John in the more recent years, (prior to 1980, but not before his lost atempt to live in Hollywood, alone without Yoko. It was this separation from her that he came to realize that he did indeed need his life long partner to complete his circle to his then confused life. Don't you agree that we have seen Lennon at his best when he is with her. You have just got to see this Rolling Stone cover..You will gain a sense of appretiation for Yoko for being who she was to him. I only want to say that the Two VIrgins album was the firm starting point in which they were brought together to complete YES, Two Virgins is a very powerful insight to fill a void that was left hanging open, and vulnerable to the world. This love gave John what he has been searching for but only now came to know. I want to remember this beginning point and and hope to see them reunited in heaven. John has left us very young. He had so much more to say to us, but I guess it's true that only the good die young!!!!!!! Two Vigins album, truly the ultimate beginning to a magical time we have shared in our devotion. P.S. I could make copies of the Rolling Stone cover if any of you want to see the second half of what has made John the complete and whole person that he inspires inus all. The end.

Rating: 3.5
Mar 24, 1997
Barry Barrett
This album is very strange it is like a longer , slower , (more twisted) version of Revolution#9.I gave it a 3.5... . and I think that , that was generous . It isn't even remotely musical and is still a great album... . considering . This is something only a John Lennon fan would enjoy(to full potential).But if your not sure if you should get it when you happen to see it somewhere you should get it instead of any normal album (considering you can get any other album any time and this is a rare find on cd.)So depending on if you like the strange/or don't ... . You may love this album or hate this... ."album".

Rating: 4.5
Mar 24, 1997
Pearl
EXELLENT!!! What can I say? This is not for the person who are starting to look into JLs work or for someone who are just out for plain rock. This is a totally different experience. The first time I listened to it was during a hot summer day at the beach. It was great. It's a really artsy thing where Lennon/Ono mixes every sound from screams to just the nearest instrument. Makes you think. It's kinda like a meditation to listen to it. I totally recommend it. :)

Rating: 5.0
Mar 24, 1997
David A. Carpenter
This album is definately NOT for the casual Lennon listener. However, this album is excellent if you are looking for the total Lennon experience. The art on this album is better than most of the stuff that today is considered music! The fact that John and Yoko were willing to show the world that they were actual human beings and not just legends is stunning (although Yoko was not yet a legend). I heartily recommend this album and suggest one listen to it while driving or sitting in a room. It is one to be experienced!

Rating: 5.0
Mar 21, 1997
Ricardo Luis Muza Galarce
When two great saints meet in a battle its a humbling experience, the longer the battles to prove he was a saint. The album quoted that Paul McCartney said that.I think it has amny meanings. The album has 29 10 minutes of music, but i must say sounds, cause its not music. I have red many books about The Beatles, and indeed i think that this album its the first one of a new era of experimentation, many people critizice this album, but its the beggining of a number of unpredictable series of new kind of sound like George Harrison Electronic Sound.Although this album is almost any kind of sound the end its great, its like a Pope speech, sand after Lennon finished this album, in the morning he made love with Yoko. I think that we have many ways of expressing our feelings,John expressed this feelings by taking a picture of him and the woman he loved , both naked. I would have called this album Love essay, cause this it what it mean to me, and if we choose to express our feelings, i think one of the best ways to do this is taking a picture of you and the other half of you. Almost all the common people do this, but John wasnt a common person, and also he was in drugs by that year (1968) so he showed his feelings like an artist an that was the reason, that caused this album to be banned. That is what I believe. Ricardo Muza G.

 

Home Web Chat Web Boards Discography Library Quiz Art & Poetry Links Store

Image Map -- text links below

Home | Web Chat | Web Boards | Discography | Library | Quiz | Art & Poetry | Links | Store


Produced by Sam Choukri
Frequently Asked Questions
Last updated on Nov 6, 1998