Bagism: Albums & Singles

Reviews: Milk And Honey


"Milk And Honey" was the planned followup to John Lennon's and Yoko Ono's "Double Fantasy" album and work began on it during those same sessions. Unfortunately, John wasn't around to see it finished, but Yoko released the work in progress on Jan. 19, 1984 (US) and Jan. 23, 1984 (UK).

Please add a review if you are familiar with "Milk And Honey". Lyrics and tracks are also available.

Price
Watch

Amazon
$17.98
** prices updated every 24 hours **


Rating: 1.0
Aug 19, 2007
Frank
This disc is a real problem with me. A great man passed away in 1980 that gave us great music for many years. It should have been left at that. Whatever was not released prior to his death should have been kept on the shelf. These songs are unfinished and many of them are left over songs from the 1980 disc "Double Fantasy". This was only released for one reason. Greed. Whether it's the record company or the 2nd wife and other's I'm sure, it's let"s carve out more money out of the corpse. Let's put songs John Lennon never released and put his name and picture on and charge top buck for it. Why, because his loyal fans will give money. As a John Lennon fan, this disc makes me physically ill. Squeeze as much money out of a dead man as you can. "Borrowed Time" is the only acceptable tune on it. I really hope the people involved in making this can live with themselves. Didn't they make enough money on him when he was alive? I will only consider his first wife as the widow. Imagine all the people living for today. How true.

Rating: 3.0
Aug 15, 2007
Paul Panetta
I'm being generous...2 3/4 to maybe 3 apples on this Lp. All this was ,was just to hear Lennon again on the airways 4 years after his death. Although Nobody Told Me was probally the best out of the bunch, all the other Lennon tracks on the Lp were just "rehearsal" or practicing the songs before adding other instruments on it or other approach to the song to make it whole,because what your listening to is just a rehearsel,especially the songs,Borrowed time and Grow old with me,Flower princess and the others. MTV played the video Nobody told me allot during 1984,so that's why it's acceptable as a "finished song".She should have released Nobody told me and the B side of one of her songs as a single and left it like that ( I know she did that,) but not to release a full album.

Rating: 4.5
Apr 21, 2007
Philippe
On this "double fantasy" follow-up, Yoko's songs are much weaker than on the previous one.It could have drowned the whole album if John's material hadn't been so brilliant it easily overshadowed yoko's."I'm steppin' out" has such a melody! blimey this guy was a genius. Even if the two other rockers are less obvious, they still stand for themselves, and these are demos! On side two we have a nice reggae ballad and two outstanding and very different songs. "Borrowed time" is a powerful and melodic reggae, with Lennon playing joyfully at the end."Grow old with me" is a gem, although recorded with a piano and a simple rythm box, it brought me tears of rage the first times I listened to it.This is Lennon at his best,He could still write , compose and sing what could have become a wedding march;the piano sounds just like bells, the melody is breathtaking, it's simply great.

Rating: 4.5
Sep 1, 2005
Matthew
I think this is better than Double Fantasy because it isn't just about their love. I'm Stepping Out was the obvious choice for the opening track, but it feels like it isn't quite sure when to gain momentum. Sleepless Nights shows that Yoko was improving with age, it perfectly captures the lazy approach the lyrics describe (almost like Lennon's Beatle tracks I'm Only Sleeping and I'm So Tired). I Don't Want To Face it is an excellent rocker that shows that Lennon hasn't lost his talent for coming up with great lyrics which doesn't only look back over his five-year retirement but over his whole adult life with words such as 'Say you're looking for some peace and love, a leader of a big old band, you want to save humanity but it's people that you just can't stand'. Don't Be Shy is another great Yoko track with catchy lyrics. Nobody Told Me is a perfect Lennon song, it is sentimental and yet funny and loud. I can only come to the conclusion that O' Sanity's only reason for existense is to seperate two classic Lennon songs to keep the album organised. Borrowed Time is an amazing song, a worthy comparison to any of his other songs with it's playful bass and humorous lyrics. Then there's Your Hands which is possibly the hardest track on the album to the listen to, just don't listen to it anyway near a glass window because Yoko's voice could probably shatter it with this track. Forgive Me is a bit soft, I feel like it needed a harder edge to it, but having 'Flower Princess' in the title doesn't bode well for any song. Let Me Count The Ways is like a fairy tale song, I feel like Yoko is playing a character rather than fully embracing the song. Grow Old With Me sounds like a funeral march which makes it quite a sad song to listen to, because it can never be accomplished. I think that You're The One has always tried to be a partner to Walking On Thin Ice but it isn't as good and you grow tired of it. This album features a more bouncy and uplifting Lennon than Double Fantasy did and Yoko's work is considerably better. Let's just say- quality songs on a half-arsed album.

Rating: 5.0
Sep 28, 2004
Rick Jackson
a great album with a taste of what was to come, double fantasy and this album too me are one, i always thought that "double honey" would have been a great album with johns tracks from both, and yoko could have put out her under the title fantasy milk. lennon has great tracks on here, steppin out is great, nobody told me, and my fav grow old with me a song john got from john barrett and elizabeth browning poem, they we're very much in love, john wanted to save the song to the end so he could spend extra time on it for that was to be his baby, but unfortunately we only hear it in a music box, lennon never got a chance to record it in the studio thanks to some moronic idiot who is still alive and living in a correction center , wow some punishment for a loser like mark david chapman who robs the world of a genious and a dream weaver of a generation, john was to tour in march of 1981, what might have been ,,,,, thanks to the crap this world has in it we will never know,yes the DREAM IS OVER....

Rating: 4.5
Sep 17, 2004
Andy Jackson
I must say that this is by far Yoko's best performance. A lot of people give her stick, but I must admit that I'm fascinated by her melodies and highly emotional lyrics. Let Me Count the Ways is a gorgeous song that steps right up alongside Lennon's 'Love is Real'. Your Hands is a powerful love song that speaks of an intimacy that too few of us get a chance to share. There's a strong element of traditional melody to her music as each phrase flows naturally into the next. However, I suspect that it's only people at true peace with themselves and the world that can really appreciate the simple beauty of her work. John's part of the album is good, but certainly not his best. Stepping Out, Nobody Told Me, etc, all have witty lyrics, but they lack the gripping ambience that defines so many other well-written Lennon songs. Grow Old Along With Me is certainly the most sincere and moving song of his on this album, but its a shame that it didn't get the chance for proper recording and producing. For other Yoko enthusiasts, check out "Moving On" off Double Fantasy. The guitars rock, and so does she...

Rating: 4.5
Aug 24, 2004
Rene Butler
Milk and Honey has to be acknowledged in the light that the artist was unable to finnish his work. Stepping out kicks the album off well, though it turns out to be a slight false dawn. Lennon sings about his fives years out, bringing up Sean, watching test cricket and making bread. The feel of the song is created with exemplary singing (something Lennon never got full credit for), a rythematic drum beat and a whining lead guitar, curtsey of Hugh McCracken. Nobody told me was destined to be a single; it just has that feel. Very poetic and a great use of antithesis, “There’s always something happening, but nothing going on. Everybody’s smoking but no-one’s getting high!” In the same vein as Double Fantasy, Yoko Ono commandeers half of this album,though to be fair, her input was needed as John didn’t have a chance to complete his material. Strangely enough, you begin to empathises with her songs, the singing notwithstanding! Borrowed time is indicative of John’s journey. He dips into his psyche, (as he is prone to do) and sings of his past In hindsight the title of the song is spooky. Lyrically, Lennon chooses to elongate his vowels when singing the chorus to this track, it does add an effect, of sorts! (Forgive me) My little flower Princess incorporates the ‘Soft Lennon Reggae’ he sometimes pulled out of his locker. Slow and charming. Listen to this song more than once for it’s full appreciation. Grow Old with Me is by far and away the most tear jerking track imaginable. Recorded in his apartment on a basic demo machine, this really reflects his hope and love for his wife. On December the 8th 1980 John Lennon was murdered. 5 hours before, he and Yoko were interviewed, a recording of this appears as the bonus track on new editions of Milk and Honey. Believe me, it is well worth the 15 minutes if you want John Lennon’s pre and post Beatle life in a nut shell. Here Lennon is witty, charismatic and probably suffering from too much caffeine! John is majestic, listening to him rationalise his views, (whether you agree with them or not ) he is awe-inspiring. That said, it’s incredibly sad.

Rating: 4.5
Jun 20, 2004
Morozov Dima
The "Milk And Honey" shold be the "Double Fantasy #2" in Lennon's plans about the future but unfortunately he was killed before it was released. As for me, this album is much better than "Double Fantasy" and Yoko's songs here are much better than tracks on the "Double Fantasy" disc. For example, "Don't Be Scared" and "Let Me Count The Ways" sound very well. About Lennon's part I'd like to notice that songs like "I'm Stepping Out"(surely #1 hit of the album), "I Don't Wanna Face It", "Nobody Told Me" and "(Forgive Me) My Little Flower Princess" are really beautiful. "Borrowed Time" is nice track to. "Grow Old With Me" should become an anthem of some political movements like "The Movement of the Youth and Love" and so on. Very nice album, I'd recommend it for everybody.

Rating: 4.0
May 29, 2004
J Starling
MILK AND HONEY is truly "unfinished music" by John, and I was pleasantly surprised by this album. Lennon's tracks here have a spirit here that is missing on most of his DOUBLE FANTASY, or even his "Lost Weekend" era work. I'll even go out on a limb and say this is his strongest set of songs since IMAGINE. Sadly they were not completed. "Grow Old With Me" is among his best ballads, even if it was essentially a "demo" as was "Real Love" (another later Lennon gem). The other songs, while rough and not quite complete, have the wit and energy of Lennon's classic work. As far as Yoko's work, I don't want to pile on - in fact I think her musical tracks tend to be quite interesting - but John's work is the certainly main attraction here.

Rating: 3.0
Apr 3, 2004
Nick W
Was this the first rave from the grave? The opening act of naked exploitation of a dead musician's back catalogue? I believe it probably was. It's difficult to believe now but back in 1984 cobbling together some old demos, remixing them and putting them out as a "new" album was a concept still in its infancy. To be blunt that is exactly what Milk and Honey is. But to be fair Lennon had been recording this material when he died and from that point of view alone it's a must-have for fans. Nobody Told Me is great and judging by the vocal wasn't even properly finished - how good would it have been if it was? I Don't Want To Face It and I'm Stepping Out give fascinating and perhaps disturbing insights into Lennon's state of mind during the Dakota Years. And Borrowed Time is a bizarre, strangely listenable and, as it would turn out, spine-chillingly accurate portent of impending doom set to a reggae beat. Sadly all this is intermingled with the usual Yoko nonsense which can safely be skipped over as usual. So, sub-standard exploitation or valuable musical document? Only you can truly decide. The debate still rages from Milk & Honey through to Free As A Bird and the Anthology. But heck we still keep buying it don't we? We're still looking for that musical gem which, fleetingly, we sometimes get.

Rating: 4.5
Mar 3, 2004
greg
Milk and Honey... as grate majority of John`s albums this one is great too.. I gave 4,5 just becouse it has treally good songs: I`m stepping out - so fresh and powerful song on the beggining fills you with possitive energy and is one of His best songs, next one Sleepless night- this is in my opinion one of the best Yoko`s, we can here of course her yelling a bit, but this song suits right in this album, and is quite nice. I don`t wanna face it , Nobody Told Me, Borrowed Time - all those songs are in John`s top class, you just can`t live without them. Grow old with me - last John`s is just great to finish album, in opposesion to I`m stepping out it leaves us with an athmosphere of melancholy and just ready to end listinig in which so powerfully introduced us the 1st song. Yoko stuff on this CD is quite good, I know that some people don`t like her performing on John`s albums, but I`ve got acustomed to it, and I really like some of her songs, her voice is original and very interesting for me. Generally I think this album was a great continiuing of Double Fantasy

Rating: 5.0
Jan 8, 2004
SupaFish
I would just like to say that though on Double Fantasy Yoko's contribution is annoying and gets in the way, this is probably the best album by the two of them ever!

Rating: 5.0
Dec 7, 2003
Leicetser City staying up
It's so hard to rate this. You have to consider it as an EP not an album as there are only a handfull of completed tracks by John. The review underneath is spot on about 'Grow old with me' truly heartbraking to hear,but an awsome song. I've commented before(Rene Butler)that Lennon was at his peak when he died, and I think this album reienforces my view. 'Stepping Out' has typical, poetic, witty, Lennon, lyrics. In 'Nobody told me' you have a great ballad, Lennon dippng into his phychy again. I don't feel the same exictment with 'Borrowed time' as many people do, it's sounds kinda West Indian. Though, if you listen to the interview at the end (two days before he was murdered) Lennon is philosophising about Man kind, peace, history etc. His energy and carismar indear the listener. I don't agree with his politics but his passion is raw and genuine. A great story teller too, when he speaks of Sean etc. Funny, witty, articulate just as he was as a Fab. It's so god dam sad it brings a tear your eye.

Rating: 2.5
Nov 10, 2003
Grant McLaren
I ave this a 2.5 rating because only half of this album is any good, the half that yoko only has is absolute tripe and she shouldn't have used John's posthumous album as a vehicle for her own contrived rubbish. Alas, the john lennon songs are immense, grow old with me is particularly heart breaking, this is john lennon as he was just about to come back, just think how great the world would be if he, not his memory was still here.

Rating: 3.0
May 12, 2002
Liam
The posthumous Lennon album, four years after his death, this follows in the footsteps of Double Fantasy, being half John, half Yoko. Actually, the thing that springs to mind with these two albums is that if the John tracks were all put together onto one album, it would be a serious contender for the status of John's best. As with Double Fantasy, John sounds very refreshed, and clearly back to his old ways, but more fun. Nobody Told Me, for instance, is the best song on the album and has lyrical themes that would sound right at home on Imagine or Plastic Ono Band - but the difference is that on those albums, songs like this are invariably rather dark, while this is just pure fun, and you'll be singing along by the second chorus! Of course, the album is not without its dark patches - Borrowed Time is a very reflective song about John's whole career, and serves a similar purpose to Watching The Wheels on Double Fantasy. It's not dark by his earlier standards, but it's not as poppy as it may seem at first glance. Really, though, it's probably all-round Lennon's best "pop album". The music is very bright overall, even on such dark lyrical themes as "I'm Stepping Out" and "I Don't Wanna Face It", both of which are well up to standard, and the former would probably have fit well onto earlier albums. As for the latter, just listen to John counting the song in - "un, deux, eins-zwei-hickel-pickel!" - and the song will have you! John & Yoko share a loving moment on this album, with a spot of poetry, Robert Browning and Elizabeth Barrett, specifically, in the forms of "Grow Old With Me" and "Let Me Count The Ways". While these are not among the best on the album, there is something very romantic about it all, and the fact that this demonstration of the couple's love for each other is being offered to the public like this is noteworthy. Rather sweet, actually. Interestingly, John does a version of "Every Man Has A Woman Who Loves Him" - one of Yoko's songs on the last album. Not remarkable, but probably better than Yoko's version. On the subject of Yoko's songs, they too are very much like her contributions to Double Fantasy - they lose something in the translation. Although "O'Sanity" and "Your Hands" have their moments, I must admit. Still nothing special, but somehow appealing - any song with the line "it's only sane to be insane" has to be worth hearing! Again, even if the metaphors don't have the same edge. On the whole, though, I think of this album as fundamentally similar to Double Fantasy. I have trouble separating the two - possibly because I got them at the same time, I don't know. But they are very intertwined. Again, it's not John's best, but it has its moments. Good.

Rating: 4.0
Jun 22, 2001
Rik
I have never been a fan of "half and half" John and Yoko albums, but John's tracks on this are so strong that it makes it worth having. Lennon's material is stronger than Double Fantasy, more restless in the subject matter and instrumentation. Themes of his disparagment with the knee-jerk surface-only liberals (I Don't wanna Face It"), fleeing from his seclusion ("I'm Steppin' Out"); while still maintaining some hope and wonder for the modern age and future ("Nobody Told Me"). All wrapped in catchy melodies with clever lyrics and wordplay that he is know for but seemed almost absent form DF. Lennon himself felt DF was too slick and soft sounding, and Yoko wisley went for a rougher edge when she completed these tracks for the 1984 release. Thankfully we see a return of the ballsier Lennon, still loving his wife and child, but unwilling to acquiesce to complete domestic bliss and forget the world around him. Other than the Lennon Legend compilation, you cannot find these songs in this form on any other CD. Speaking of CD's, I always program my player for the John tracks. Yoko is very good songwriter, but her accent and lack of singing ability are things I cannot seem to get past. Try hunting this one down in the used shops, for even a casual Lennon fan will dig the upbeat grooves he layed down in what was to be his final sessions.

Rating: 3.5
Dec 19, 2000
laurie marks
This posthumous Lennon release is the companion piece to Double Fantasy. According to the Yoko liner notes, it is made up of the tracks recorded by John & Yoko during and after the Double Fantasy sessions as a sequel. Lennon's tragic death meant that much of his material is in varying stages of completion from home demo (Grow Old With Me) to finalised (Nobody Told Me). But as confirmed by Yoko and listening to each album in turn, it would be wrong to assume that this is an album of Double Fantasy off-cuts. Like its predecessor, the album alternates between Lennon's songs and Yoko's. And like its predecessor, the less said about her contributions, the better. Notwithstanding the enthusiasm of some fans for her off-key warbling of works best described as amateur songwriting, her set of songs on this album would not pass any audition were she not Lennon's widow. Her inability to set lyrics to music means that lines are out of synch with their music, melodies bear little relationship to a song's content or subject-matter. On one track 'Your Hands' her self-indulgence even permits her to repeat lines in Japanese and English in turn. As with Double Fantasy, you end up with an album that is, numerically anyway, only ever going to be semi-decent at best. But enough of Yoko the musician - her greatest contribution to us all was to inspire her late husband to write and sing some memorable songs, some of which appear on this album. In particular, Nobody Told Me is a solid piece of commercial rock which scored a surprise top ten hit in 1984, demonstrating Lennon's selling power on new material if nothing else. The song is full of the little gems of Lennonesque lyrics that marked some of his best songs with the Beatles. The next most solid and polished song is the opener, I'm Stepping Out, which is in much the same vein. Solid enough rock to have been a successful single in its own right, a catchy riff and clever lyrics rank it in the top drawer of Lennon songs. AFter that, the quality starts to fall away, as does the level of production. The songs Borrowed Time and I Don't Wanna Face It are worthy album fillers, some of the lyrics sounding far more poignant than when they were written. Forgive Me is the next step down again, an unfinished studio run-through. These tracks are all fine, even if at moments they start to suffer from their demo-type sound quality. On one level, I'm glad Yoko or worse, Phil Spector, was not moved to mush these numbers up with the usual syrupy strings etc., but the inescapable truth is that the tracks remain somewhat unfinished. This inevitably starts to move us off to the realm of a 'tribute' album for collectors and away from a quality release, partly explaining the limits on its sales figures, no doubt. The most difficult track to review on the album is undoubtedly Grow Old With Me. It is in such a raw state that it is impossible not to try to imagine how good it could of been had it been finished off ever. Certainly, on Anthology George Martin was given licence to give it his interpretation with some overdubbed strings, and the result is far from unpleasant. It is a beautiful little song, along the same lines as 1971's "Oh My Love". What puzzles me is whether it is a truly classic song, poignantly left in a demo-stage for the rest of time as a haunting reminder of the tragedy of Lennon's death - the 'what might have been ?' track, as a represnetation of the entire Lennon career - or merely a song masquerading as such. Certainly Yoko explains that Lennon could never quite get it to sound 'right' despite a number of attempts. To me, it is neither strong enough to save the balance of the album, nor weak enough to detract from it. It is no 'Imagine' but nor is it 'Ya Ya' circa 1974. It is like 'Real Love', the demo version is an interesting listen, but the Beatles version is far better music to listen to. It is a shame that 'Grow Old With Me' could not have received the same treatment. The album would have been improved with a Yoko track (any one, take your pick) making way for a 7th Lennon track, most logically his version of "Everyman Has A Woman" released on a Yoko music compilation in the mid-80s. But overall, this is an album with 6 Lennon tracks only, which limits its appeal, some of which rank more favourably than others. It barely makes it past a pass mark for non-fans, even if they follow my advice to skip the Yoko tracks altogether. For fans, it is a must, of course, by definition.

Rating: 4.5
Oct 13, 2000
Neon
Frankly, I'm amazed that people have managed to dig deep down and pull out bad reviews for this amazing album. I heard it for the first time on CD today (my faithful but warped, scratchy vinyl version is now likely a permanent 'collectible' that'll stay in the sleeve from now on) and I can definitely say that this was his best album since "Imagine," made even better by collaboration-effect with what was his clear soulmate. His songs remain in the "Double Fantasy" vein, but are usually more "rockin'" and sometimes more 'fun' ("I'm Stepping Out"), more introspective ("I Don't Wanna Face It", "Borrowed Time") and more, what I call Lennonesque (the irony and wordplay of "Nobody Told Me"). Yoko's songs mirror his in that they are similar in style if not in tone, and they also tell, in a different way, the story of onolife in the "Double Fantasy" comeback era. She also gets to have her fun (the short, light-hearted romp "O'Sanity...yeah, she screams "LET GO!" but it's all in good fun, and the song ends on a whimsical note, cutting out just as she says "CUT IT OUT!") Where was I? Oh yeah, and she's introspective all over the place, asking herself questions like "Head/What am I going to do with my head?" She even sneaks in a little Japanese lesson with "Your Hands"; here she calls out lyrics in her native tongue and then translates what she just sang to English for our (and doubtlessly John's) benefit. I know most of you don't like Yoko Ono, but overall I have to rate her songs on this album superior than those of "Double Fantasy", with more interesting, varied arrangements and "better" subject matter. Of course, the album was made within John's lifetime, so those looking for her reaction to the night of 12/8/80 will have to look to the all-Yoko "Season Of Glass." Allegations that this was a put-together effort made from songs they were not planning on releasing are groundless, for reasons I just mentioned and others that I'm about to go into in my quaint little review. First of all, the liner-notes that Yoko wrote for this album clearly indicate that they were planning the "Milk And Honey" project. Second, someone, and I believe it was Phil Spector, said that John did not waste his music. If he was releasing an album of 10 tracks, he'd cut 10 tracks. Lennon was clearly planning on releasing them; they are high quality, one was a big posthumous hit for John, and both hit "Nobody Told Me" and "Borrowed Time" were borrowed from "M&H" for release on the "Lennon Legend" compilation. This is clearly not an album of filler, but great tunesmithery and an album of proof that the artist does not have to have problems in order to be grandly musical and compelling. They planned on releasing "Milk And Honey", an answer to "Double Fantasy" and another side of their story. Sadly, John would never see the story of his househusband days on a record, nor would he see what was his most beautiful symbiosis with Yoko distributed. In closing: a few words about the Browning home-tape project. This seemed planned, as they intended to put it on the first comeback album; that one with the black and white kiss photo. However, in a quest to do it "just right" it got held over (Yoko says, "for 'Milk And Honey'"). Thus, what was intended as an homage to one great poetic team became the epitaph of another: Yoko's intimate tape detailing everything she lost along with John, and John's beautiful ballad becoming a tragic irony. Still, the song pairing remains relateable to masses, and a touching portrait of a true love.

Rating: 3.0
Dec 30, 1999
Ward
As far back as the autumn of 1980 we heard that there would be another album from John and Yoko, maybe to be called Milk and Honey. Was this it? We'll never know. Still, it's intriguing to see that the songs John left off of Double Fantasy were certainly up to par. With the kablam and fun of I'm Stepping Out, you're nodding your head and enjoying the ride. This is slowed down by Yoko's herky-jerky Sleepless Night. (Because it was sequenced with the call-and-response that defined Double Fanatasy, I'm treating this album as a whole, as opposed to skipping Yoko's tracks. More on that later.) I Don't Wanna Face It is another hint that perhaps househusbandry wasn't all it was cracked up to be, and Don't Be Scared does little to diffuse that. But man, Nobody Told Me was great on the radio, and still cool today. (I still sing "there's nappies in the bathroom" instead of the British pronunciation of "Nazzies in the bathroom"; I think my version makes more sense.) O Sanity made me think my turntable had malfunctioned the first time I played the 45, and I don't think I've played it since. Borrowed Time was the third single, and the one everybody pounced on as "prophetic"; John liked reggae, even if he couldn't play it. Your Hands is a Japanese lesson; one wonders whose hands Yoko was singing about, then John mewls back with Forgive Me (My Little Flower Princess), oozing with a jingoism paralleled only by Malcolm McLaren's reworking of Madame Butterfly. Let Me Count The Ways may or may not have been written in 1980, but either way Grow Old With Me is very much the wedding song John wanted it to be. Who knows if he would have ever been able to record it the way he heard it in his head? You're The One ends the album with a mournful sigh for what might have been. While I'd rather have these John songs than not, they do work much better in the context of disc 4 of the Lennon box, where they're joined by John's parts of Double Fantasy, plus the "version" of Every Man Has A Woman. There is still some question whether John's songs would have been released had he lived; additionally were Yoko's songs also left over from 1980 or added on to make this as close to Double Fantasy as possible? Either way this was the first peek into the vaults, which would continue in spurts from time to time.

Rating: 5.0
Nov 8, 1998
Nathaniel Otte-The #1 Lennon Fan
This album is truly an amazing piece of work. John would have been proud of it. The second-to-last song on the album is "Grow Old With Me," which is John's last recording. Some of Yoko's songs are better than those on "Double Fantasy." This album contains probably my favorite Yoko song, "Let Me Count the Ways." One of the album's highlights is "Your Hands," which is sung in Yoko's native tongue, and she speaks the English translation for the listeners. "I'm Stepping Out" and "I Don't Want to Face It" are both very catchy and examples of great, not too keyboard-oriented 80's songs. The two standout tracks on the album are "Grow Old With Me" by John and "Let Me Count The Ways" by Yoko. These should have been released as a double A-sided single, as they are closely related to each other. "Let Me Count The Ways" contains a line from the poem of the same name by Elizabeth Browning, and "Grow Old With Me" contains a line from the poem "Grow Old Beside Me" by Robert Browning. This album, like Double Fantasy, shows us more of John's genius and more of Yoko's talent as a songwriter (her singing is actually quite good on both albums). Milk And Honey is a must-have for any fan or (especially, since this album is out of print) collector. Those who like Double Fantasy will enjoy Milk And Honey especially.

Rating: 5.0
Sep 7, 1998
C Kratzmeyer
This John/Yoko collaboration is divine. John seemed to have transpired back into his fun-loving lyrics of his early Beatles days. Yoko's lyrics showed a smoother, more sophisticated effort on her part. I personally feel as if Yoko contributed the best songs on the album. O'Sanity is particularly eerie since this album was released after John's death, as were John's Grow Old Along With Me, and Borrowed Time. This is definitely the album to buy if you want to get acquainted with John and Yoko's magical and loving relationship through song. Standout songs: Grow Old Along With Me and O'Sanity.

Rating: 5.0
Aug 29, 1998
John Mill
Since so much has been written on this album I would like to detail the making of this album for all of you. I'm Stepping Out opens up the album with a blast. Its all about John's negative feelings about being cooped up. This originally began as Real Life and included lyrics for Real Love lennon's later composition It was first demoed in 79 going under a number of different titles including Just Love and Thats The Way The World Is Baby. The song is one of my faves. Next up is I don't wanna face it. Lennon obviously knew the critics had some gripes with him so he beat them to the punch putting himslf down before they had a chance. This was first demoed in Bermuda in 80 in much of the same form as it is found here. Next Up is Nobody Told Me. Another one of my faves. This demo started off as Everybody in 79 and was about not telling people what to do and letting them do it their own way. Lyrics changed it was recorded as Nobody Told Me as a demo for Richard Starkey for his Stop And Smell The Roses LP. Side 2 kicks off with Borrowed Time a bermuda demo slightly reminisint of Bob Marley music. Its all about John living for the day. Next up is Forgive me FP this is a weak song why was it added if Lennon was around it certainly in my opion would have stayed off the LP. Grow Old With Me I rate as JL best work (next to Imagine) Sadly a choir and strings were overdubbed to this Robert Browning inspired song obscuring Lennon's original demo.

Rating: 4.0
Jul 22, 1998
Aardbei (Strawberry)
Surprisingly I found this album on CD earlier this week, and it seems legit. I was already familiar with Lennon's work on this album from the box set, and I must say that his part is absolutely brilliant, if you consider that most of these are not exactly done yet. Yoko's work is pretty good too, especially musically, although I still find it a bit hard to listen to her singing. Listening to some of the lyrics is a bit eerie, especially "Borrowed time" and "Grow old with me", knowing that John is no longer with us. What this album shows us, is a John Lennon returning to absolute top-shape and a Yoko Ono showing feel for a good melody. It seems that they were happy at that time in their life, and some of the songs absolutely show it. It's a shame that "Let me count the ways" and "Grow old with me" were never given the chance to develop into the gems they could have been. "I'm stepping out", "Borrowed time" and "Nobody told me" sound as the best solo stuff John has ever done" and although I'm slightly less familiar with Yoko's body of work, I doubt that she ever surpassed "O'Sanity" and "Don't be scared". "Your hands" could have been great, but Yoko's singing here is not quite to my liking.

Rating: 4.0
Feb 19, 1998
Joseph Piscopo
this album is out of print but worth looking for.Nobody told me is a classic so catchy and some great guitar work by John Borrowed time is another great song with a Police style reggae beat. Stepping out is also a great song and Grow old with me is so creepy and chilling when you here it.it sounds like John was wondering he was gonna die before he grew old.the Yoko songs are okay as well. a few of these songs should of been on double fantasy it would of been a classic album if these songs were included.some people might say that when Yoko released this album that she was trying to milk John's death for all the money his name could get.but be thankful that these songs where released.hopefully if Yoko finds more unreleased songs there will still be new john songs.let's hope so.

Rating: 3.5
Feb 6, 1998
mean mr musterd
i realy wanet to give this album an higher raiting but its hard. nobady told me is briliant a good song with amusing lyrics. im stepping out is also a good simple rockpop song, and john sounds as if his having a great time singing it. borrowed time is also a great reagay(sorry if i speld it wrong) song where john sounds on some parts like he lost his mind. i dont want to face it is also a good simple pop song and forgive me(my little flower princes) is anice relaxed song. there is no strong sirious songs in this albums and it seems that all that it is good for is just a good time the exepsional song is grow old with me which is a jental balad which was badly recorded (its originaly a demo tape that wasent suuposed to be a part of this album.

Rating: 3.5
Jan 16, 1998
Keith
While I must say I was very disappointed with Yoko's half of the album (save "Let Me Count The Ways") John's songs are for the most part, very interesting. Since none of them were ever perfected in the studio, we only get a glimpse of what could have been. "Nobody Told Me" is hands down one of John's best songs ever, and along with "I Don't Wanna Face It" shows that John had indeed not lost his edge in his final years. "Grow Old With Me" is a hauntingly beautiful ballad, and "Borrowed Time" is an interesting attempt at reggae, inspired, no doubt, by John's exposure to the music of Bob Marley. The album has a throwaway track or two, but since Yoko decided what material would be put on and kept off, we must at least thank her for what we've been allowed to hear. So although it took four years, I'd say the album was worth putting out. I can't understand why it has been made unavailable on cd though.

Rating: 4.5
Jan 6, 1998
Marc Mortek
Milk and Honey is one of those albums that u look at and say wow think if he would have been able to release the album while still alive. Some critcs say that this album should have never been released. One critic says it should not have been released because he was dead. Does that mean The Beatles Anthology songs Free as A Bird and Real Love should not have been released? I mean John was dead right? Anoher critc said that we want to hear songs from legands and unfortunatly this is the only was we can. Songs on this album that stick out and classics to me are I'm Stepping Out(as soon as it starts it just sounds like a good 80's song)Nobody Told me(this would have been a number one right away)Borrowed Time(even though the beat keeps repeating it is a great song about his life at that time) Grow Old With Me(it could have been an excellent song and it is a good look at how he was going to present it in the end even though it is a demo tape). The Yoko Ono songs are MUCH better that Double Fantasy. O'Sanity and

Rating: 3.5
Oct 28, 1997
Carlos Quintanilla
For me the highlight of this song and also the one which would have given John a no1 if it had been realised in the charts is 'Grow Old With Me.' Realise that this is the home version that was on cassette and so need the studio recording + other instrumental additions to make it into a classic. Without a doubt, the song that makes me most sad when I hear it as it expresses all of John's emotions; something that nobody will ever be able to do better.

Rating: 3.0
Oct 16, 1997
RJC
Okay, nobody's arguing the fact that this wasn't the best album ever made. It wasn't meant to be. BUT, it's made up of unfinished music that we would all be clamoring to hear if it had never been released! As it is, there are gems on here that would now be sorely missed if they were taken away. "You want to save humanity, but it's people you just can't stand..."

Rating: 5.0
Oct 2, 1997
Steve Andrisevic
This album is really superior in some ways to Double Fantasy.The songs have more of an edge to them and even Yokos songs are better than the ones on Double Fantasy.My personal favorite songs on the album are Nobody Told Me,Steppin Out,Grow Old Along With Me,and Livin On Borrowed Time.It would have been great to see John Lennon do the songs on this album live.By now he probably would have retired again or for all I know would be recording with a frenzy.The sad part of listening to these last recordings is that the potential was cut short by an act that he dedicated his public to trying to prevent.I would recommend this to anyone who is studying the music of John Lennon.CRANK IT!!!

Rating: 3.5
Sep 5, 1997
The Eggman
I have mixed feelings about this album. For the most part Lennon's tunes are good. For the most part his are upbeat,and catchy, never boring. I also think that Lennon took these songs in a different direction. Though they were written at the time of 'Double Fantasy' the over all sound of these songs are more contemporary sounding (considering the year they were recorded) than its predecessor. So I am pleased with the Lennon material. On the other hand, unlike 'Double Fantasy' I am not pleased with the Yoko songs on 'Milk and Honey'. Too me they sound improvised, unfinished, and tasteless. The only song I give Yoko credit for that I feel was decent was 'O Sanity', and thats because of the lyrics not the composition of the song. Also, to be honest, though 'Let Me Count The Ways' has a beautiful melody, it goes awry because Yoko sings it (I feel she does not have the voice for that kind of music). Overall the album is pretty decent, though my least favorite of Lennon/Ono Lp's, its still a good listen.

Rating: 5.0
Aug 22, 1997
BLAKE1998
LET'S PUT IT SIMPLY,THIS IS LENNON'S LAST RECORDINGS,HE COULD'NT WRITE BAD MUSIC AND I LOVE ALL OF THE ALBUM(THATS RIGHT EVEN YOKO'S SONGS).WHAT WE SEEM TO FORGET IN IT ALL WHEN WE BASH YOKO'S SINGING,IS THAT JOHN WAS OUTSTANDING IN HIS PLAYING OF THE MUSIC.SO MABEY GO BACK AND GIVE THOSE SONGS A LISTEN FOR THE MELODY THAT JOHN GAVE TO US.PEACE AND LOVE.

Rating: 4.0
Aug 11, 1997
Jim Jacobs
This album is the unreleased portion of the Double Fantasy album. You could almost call this Double Fantasy part 2 but it does not have the quality or as good an effort as Double Fantasy. Milk & Honey is John & Yoko's last album together. Two tracks stick out in my mind as being good, Nobody Told Me-the first single from this album & John's final recording-Grow Old With Me. Collectors note: Grow Old With Me was considered to be rerecorded by The Beatles for the anthology series but nothing came of it. This album was issued on the heels of Unfinished Dialogue-an interview album with John & Yoko which was recorded before his untimely death. There was one other John recording not included in Milk & Honey & that was his version of Every Man Has A Woman Who Loves Him which ended up on a Yoko compilation Lp & as a single.

Rating: 4.5
Aug 1, 1997
lenono
for all lennon fans, buy it. grow old with me was a planned third track for the beatles anthology, after free as a bird and real love, this is a must have for any serious lennon studies. these are the final tracks from him, recorded as demos during the double fantasy period. people who dis this record just simply dont know. i for one like some of yoko's tunes.

Rating: 3.0
Jun 24, 1997
Blainer
It's not that Milk And Honey is a bad album, it just leaves something to be desired. Lennon had yet to finish the album at the time of his murder in 1980, but the songs had evolved nicely up to that point. I don't care much for Yoko, so I won't offend anyone by commenting on her songs. Lennon continues the mood of Double Fantasy, smiling and content. I'm Stepping Out is a playful tune, commenting on his happiness as a house-husband, but still needing to get away from himself every now and then. Living On Borrowed Time is a rather sobering song, considering that it was recorded shortly before his death. Nobody Told Me is probably the greatest song on the album. The catch line "Strange days, indeed" is followed by the fifties-rock-esque "Most peculiar, mamma." One can almost see the wry smile on Lennon's face as he says it. However, Lennon does slip with Flower Princess, a hopelessly bad love song to Yoko. However, his home demo of Grow Old With Me is beautiful in it's simplicity. The sound quality leaves much to be desired, but the over-all feel is lovely. The album is rare, and available mainly on cassette (I've never seen it on CD). If you can find the album for less than five or six bucks, it's worth it.

Rating: 4.0
Jun 22, 1997
Marisa
'Milk and Honey' is a great album, considering it was still under construction! "I'm Stepping Out" is a brilliant song pertaining to Johns life around that time, hanging around the house, watching t.v., he just wanted to go out and have fun! "I Dont Wanna Face It" and "Nobody Told Me" seem to hint that John was in a time of confusion in the late 70's, even though "Nobody Told Me" is hilarious!! (" Theres UFOs over New York and I aint too surprised") "Borrowed Time" is a cool reggae-like song, inspired by Bob Marley's "Burnin" album. I dont like one of Johns contributions though, " (Forgive Me) My Little Flower Princess". I dont know why I hate it so much, maybe its because its for May Pang, and I dont like thinking about John singing love songs to people other than Yoko. Johns last song, "Grow Old With Me" is very beautiful lyrically, but the demo-tape version on the album is really creepy. I think if John would have been able to finish it, it couldve been one of his best love songs. Yoko's songs on this album are a lot different than 'Double Fantasy'. I eally like her songs on 'Milk and Honey', especially "Dont Be Scared" and "Let Me Count the Ways", a beautiful song that I would have never thought Yoko would write, its so soft and full of nice thoughts.I think her songs are better on this album because, unlike 'Double Fantasy', there is no edginess or cynicism to her songs. All in all, a good listen.

Rating: 3.0
May 29, 1997
Josh Matlock
The album does deserve some credit at least. It may not be as great as the "Double Fantasy" album, but it had an excuse. John was tragically shot by that phsycopathic looney (Who I refuse to name because that's what he wants - to be somehow linked to Lennon in one way or another). But the album did include one of my favorite tracks of all-time by him in 'Nobody Told Me'. Though I'm not a Yoko fan at all, I truly give her some respect for finishing the album for release in 1984. My reasoning for the 3-star rating is simple. I love 'Nobody Told Me'and the other Lennon tracks are actually listenable. I mean, can you actually IMAGINE what the album would have been like if he was able to mix it like he was trying to do when the loser shot him. The album would have been right up there with "Double Fantasy". Just as the refinished songs - 'Real Love' and 'Free as a Bird', 'Nobody Told Me' was the first gift from the last words of the great John Lennon. But we have to remember that all you really need in the end is "Love". His music and lyrics will always be remembered as some of the most deep and personal, but will always circle back to one major theme . . . . L O V E . (JM)

Rating: 5.0
Apr 17, 1997
Stephanie
This record rocks! "Nobody Told Me" is typical Lennon, you know? He covers politics, getting high, making love, etc...It could've been written in 1968! It has a great beat, John's voice couldn't be better, and the line "Most peculiar mamma..." is reminiscent of early rock and roll, with a Lennon touch. Quite simply, its one of John's best songs. "I'm Steppin' Out" is the same, great voice, great beat. He sounds like he loves what he's doing, and he's thrilled to be back. "Grow Old With Me" is sadly beautiful. His voice is soft as on "Love" (from Plastic Ono Band.)Another love song to Yoko, the line "God bless our love..." shows he's passed that cynicism and bitterness of "GOD" (also from Plastic Ono Band.) The song "(Forgive Me) My Little Flower Princess" is also good, but seems out of place on this record, as its about May Pang. Still, the entire record is like a Double Fantasy-Part II. And, I'm eternally grateful to Yoko for releasing 'Milk and Honey' otherwise we would never have had the chance to hear these wonderful songs.

Rating: 4.0
Apr 16, 1997
Jason Woodburn
What a great album. From the anticipation of all the songs being released in 1984 to now, this album is the solo equivelant/ pre-cursor to the Beatles Anthology. "Although John/Yoko albums are not the most popular, this one sees Yoko at her best collaboration. If John were to have finished these songs, he would have surely won over many more fans with the reggae-flavored guitar rork and the 80's outlook he had. "I'm Stepping Out" is Lennon saying his time as house husband is over and he is ready for the music woirld again, but he's affraid. "I Don't Want to Face it" addresses those fears. Sandwiched between these songs is Yoko's Sleepless Nights." The album plays off of each song, as "Double Fantasy" did, and offers its listeners the love they share. As for Lennon's contributions, "Nobody Told Me" is a gem. The song did well on both sides of the ocean. "Borrowed Time" is another nice song, but the 1980 lyrics are just uncomfortable for what happened a few months after it was written. "(Forgive Me) My Little Flower Princess" is a coo to Yoko that is the least strongest Lennon track, but a very different sounding song for him. Finally, the most touching and REALLY eerie song Lennon ever wrote, "Grow Old With Me" concludes the Lennon portion of the record. The demo is not the greatest of quality, but it does not matter. The song is beautiful and the singing brings tears. It relates to anyone who ever was commited to someone for eternity. The album is not "Double Fantasy," but it is a great collection, Yoko's works included.

Rating: 2.0
Apr 11, 1997
Lovely Rita909
Despite the rareness of the album, Milk and Honey is one of the worst albums John produced. We all know that Yoko sings terribly and shouldn't be featured on the album. Her songs are disgraceful especially. Songs such as "Borrowed Time" are mediocre because they lack uniqueness. The song keeps repeating the same tone over and over so that it becomes monotonous and boring. I recommend this album only for John lovers who are willing to shell out money just to hear his voice.

Rating: 1.0
Apr 10, 1997
Robyn Jenkins
This album is horrible. John was going to release these songs, but only after he finished them. The buyer should be warned the album should be titled unfinished music. I agree with the first critic I find it insulting that Yoko would release this as an actual album. Besides the fact that I believe a Yoko Ono song should never be on the same album.

Rating: 5.0
Apr 10, 1997
Dave White
This album, which Lennon was planning to release in 1981, although due to his tragic death was not released until 1984, is a must for any Lennon fan. It offers a new insight into the way John's music was going, many of the songs now appearing somewhat ironic. Songs such as "Borrowed Time" and "Grow Old With Me" can only bring tears to the eyes, when you consider the events of December 1980. Some of the songs are not quite finished performances, "Grow Old With Me" appearing only in demo form, but, as Lennon explained in his interview for the BBC with Andy Peebles on December 6th 1980, he planned to go into the studio in the new year (1981) to finish mixing this album. Despite not being fully completed, this album stands up very well, containing some great tracks, and sounds really good when played back to back with "Double Fantasy". We are fortunate that Yoko released it for us all to enjoy :-)

Rating: 4.0
Mar 25, 1997
James Allen
I have to disagree with some critics. The cassette only cost me $ 5.00 and as long as I skip the Yoko tracks, all is well. I may not like Yoko Ono, but sometimes for historic value, we want to hear the songs of legends. Wheather it be Elvis Presley, Jannis Joplin, and of course John Lennon. Yes, John was dead, but we as fans like to hear songs and ideas -- songs that John never realized might be the songs that make a future star. Forgive Me My Flower Princess was a beautiful and would go great in a melody of Paul McCartney's unrealised Yvvone.

Rating: 5.0
Mar 24, 1997
David A. Carpenter
The last album with unreleased material from John is worth owning! I'm Stepping Out is about his return to recording. I Don't Want To Face It is interesting filler, as is My Little Flower Princess. Living On Borrowed Time is unfortunately ironic in itself. Nobody Told Me lyrically reminds me of the Imagine period. The best two songs on the disk are Yoko's Let Me Count The Ways and John's Grow Old Along With Me. Let Me Count The Ways was based off a line by Elizabeth Browning and Grow Old Along With Me was based on a poem by Robert Browning. Grow Old Along With Me was the very last recording John Lennon ever made. The rest of Yoko's songs are not bad. I would highly recommend getting this album.

Rating: 1.0
Mar 19, 1997
Evan James
Mar 18, 1997 Evan James (cajames@pacificcoast.net) This album should never have been released! John was dead. The songs were written at the same session as Double Fantasy and they weren't included on the album because John didn't feel they were good enough. The Yoko "songs" on this album are the worst excuse for music I have ever heard. If John didn't want the public to hear this material I find it insulting that Yoko released them. This album is a definate disapointment for any Lennon fan.

 

Home Web Chat Web Boards Discography Library Quiz Art & Poetry Links Store

Image Map -- text links below

Home | Web Chat | Web Boards | Discography | Library | Quiz | Art & Poetry | Links | Store


Produced by Sam Choukri
Frequently Asked Questions
Last updated on Nov 21, 2001